RIBA AWARDS Free Architecture Competition

Register February 21, 2019 | Submit February 21, 2019 | FREE ARCHITECTURE COMPETITIONS






The RIBA has been celebrating outstanding work for over 180 years. Our awards and prizes are regarded internationally as a mark of excellence, recognising the best architecture, architects, research and students.
RIBA Awards 2019
We are now calling for entries for the 2019 RIBA Awards. Take the opportunity to enter your project for consideration and celebrate the UK’s best buildings. The closing date for entries is 21 February 2019.
Enter now
Building awards and prizes
For 50 years the RIBA awards and prizes for buildings have championed and celebrated the best architecture in the UK and around the world, no matter the form, size or budget. Microsoft is the RIBA Awards Exclusive Technology Partner.



Please read all of the entry requirements and criteria before you start your submission.
Entry for UK projects opens on 12 December 2018.
Deadline for UK projects is 21 February 2019.
Early bird discount is available until 7 February 2019.
To create an account you must have a current individual RIBA Chartered Membership number or RIBA International Fellowship. The lead architect of the project must be a current RIBA Chartered Member. Learn how to join the RIBA here. Please note you must have applied for membership before 15 February 2019 to be eligible for this year’s RIBA Awards.



RIBA Awards and Prizes
We offer a range of prizes and awards for architects, buildings and clients in the UK and internationally.
UK – Regional

RIBA Regional Awards
A RIBA Regional Award is given to a UK project for its regional importance as a piece of architecture. Winners of regional awards are also eligible for the special awards below.
Regional Conservation Award
Conservation architects are encouraged to enter the RIBA awards with buildings or significant structures. All entries will be considered by a panel including an conservation specialist. Judges understand that every act of conservation, from restoration to the sensitive addition to an old building, involves design decisions, so every good conservation scheme is eligible for an RIBA regional award. The best conservation regional award-winning schemes will be considered for regional Conservation Awards. The project should respect and enhance the original building, but also have regard to the wider context. Buildings will demonstrate at least one of the following: creative repair and conservation, adaptive re-use of historic buildings, refurbishment and regeneration. Projects may also demonstrate an understanding of and give reference to the vernacular traditions and materials of their locality.
Regional Project Architect of the Year
Awarded to the qualified architect who led an award-winning project and made key and demonstrable contributions to its success.
Regional Client of the Year
Rewards the client’s demonstrable commitment to procuring and achieving quality architecture.
Regional Small Project of the Year
Given to projects with budgets less than £500,000 the winning project should demonstrate creativity and architectural merit within the limits of its budget.
Regional Sustainability Award
Rewards projects that go beyond statutory requirements and demonstrate elegantly and durably the principles of sustainable architecture.
Regional Building of the Year
Given to the project that best demonstrates architectural excellence while contributing positively to its economic, social, environmental and cultural context and has made a significant contribution to the practice of architecture in its local context.
UK – National

RIBA National Awards
A RIBA National Award is given to a building for its national significance and its contribution to architecture in the UK. Awarded to the buildings that set national standards for good architecture, successful projects should demonstrate design excellence, be fit for purpose and be sustainable. Only projects that have already won an RIBA Regional Award will be eligible for an RIBA National Award. RIBA National Award winners will be considered for the RIBA Stirling Prize.
RIBA House of the Year
Awarded to the best example of a one-off house designed by an architect in the UK, the award celebrates excellence and innovation in home design.
Stephen Lawrence Prize, supported by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation
The annual prize, which rewards the best examples of projects that have a construction budget of less than £1 million, is intended to encourage fresh talent working with smaller budgets. Whilst continuing to recognise the overriding importance of design, the jury will also attach high importance to the role of architects under 40 in the shortlisted projects, whether working as principals or as project leaders in a more established practice.
RIBA Client of the Year, supported by the Ibstock plc
This award honours the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture. The RIBA Client of the Year consistently champions innovation in architecture and gives inspiration to the design team. They demonstrate an active involvement within the design process, displaying creativity, vision and courage.
RIBA Stirling Prize, sponsored by Almacantar
The most prestigious of our UK awards, The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to a building considered the most significant for the evolution of architecture in the UK.


Our global architecture awards champion buildings that change the world. Awarded to any building worldwide these awards set a new global standard for architecture and are open to any qualified architect. The RIBA Stirling Prize winner will be considered for the RIBA International Prize shortlist.
RIBA Awards for International Excellence
Given to buildings worldwide that stretch the boundaries of architecture. Irrespective of style, complexity and size of both scheme and budget successful projects should demonstrate visionary or innovative thinking and excellence of execution. Winners of these awards are considered for the RIBA International Prize.
RIBA International Emerging Architect Prize
Awarded to fresh architectural talent working on international projects. Whilst continuing to recognise the overriding importance of design, the jury also wishes to encourage and promote the work of new and emerging architecture studios and will give recognition to new talent. To be eligible for this prize the architecture studio will have been in operation for 10 years or less.
RIBA International Prize
Awarded to the building thought by the judges to be the most significant and inspirational of the year. The winning building will demonstrate visionary, innovative thinking, excellence of execution, whilst making a generous contribution to society and to its physical context – be it the public realm, the natural environment or both.
The prize re-affirms the visionary purpose of the RIBA as stated in its 1837 charter: “for the general advancement of Civil Architecture.”
Only buildings that have won an RIBA Award for International Excellence will be eligible for the RIBA International Prize.






To be announced






For more information about this competition, please contact us.